Home » Computers » Internet » Skype » How to tell if someone has deleted you from Skype

How to tell if someone has deleted you from Skype

When someone wants to remove you from their Skype contacts list, they have three options. In fact, there are four because they could NOT have deleted you from their contact list. So let’s explore the options before diving into the question how to tell if someone has deleted you from Skype.

The three options are:

  • A user has not blocked or deleted you from Skype: they are simply away for a number of days or weeks (holiday, anyone?)
  • A user has deleted you from Skype, but has not blocked you. This means that while you are no longer on their contacts list, you have not been blocked from contacting them.
  • A user has deleted you from Skype, and he/she has also blocked you. This means that you no longer have the option of contacting them through Skype.
  • A user has deleted you from Skype, and he/she has blocked you, and also filed an abuse report with Skype. This really only happens when you use the Skype software for spam or other unacceptable behavior (otherwise Skype should just ignore the report).

This article is only about how to tell if someone has deleted you from Skype – but not about being blocked or having filed an abuse report. You can read our article on how to tell if someone has blocked you from Skype for our insight on figuring out if you have been blocked.

How to tell if someone has deleted you from Skype

This is a tough question that you cannot answer with any certainty at all. But there are a few indicators you could use. If you have not been blocked, then you will still see the other person coming online and offline. But, the other person will never see you coming online and offline. Play with this fact a little. When you see that the other person is online, turn off Skype for a few minutes, then back on for maybe half an hour, then back off for a few minutes and back on. Usually, they will get messages popping up on their screen shouting that you are active. If they have anything at all that they want to say to you at that moment, chances are good they will send a short message. Getting no messages, though, doesn’t necessarily mean that someone has deleted you from Skype.

If someone has deleted you, you can still send them a Skype message. Or phone them using Skype (unless they checked the option that they only want to be contacted by people in their contact list – and if you have been deleted you are no longer in their contact list). So just try it. If needed, pick up the nerve, but CALL. It is important enough for you to go search out this page on the Internet, so it’s certainly important enough to pick up the phone. Before calling, take some time to reflect. Can you think of any reason why the other person may have blocked you? Did you do anything that you regretted? Always turn the situation around in your mind: if your Skype contact did, whatever you did. How would you feel? Sure, perhaps the other person is plain unreasonable. But you cannot change the other person – either you accept them as-is or you leave them alone. It’s that simple. But you CAN change the way you react to them. I’m not advocating a 7 day full analysis, but just take 15 minutes to write down some thoughts. Like I said, it is important enough for you to seek out this page. It’s important enough to spend another couple of minutes on.

Good luck!

 


Related posts:

  1. How to tell if someone has blocked you from Skype We’ve all been there: have we been blocked from Skype?...
  2. How to send a Skype voicemail It is possible to send a Skype voicemail without actually...
  3. How to chat on Skype while calling When you are calling another person on Skype, it is...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>